County and City Employee
WASHINGTON STATE COUNCIL OF COUNTY AND CITY EMPLOYEES  -  AFSCME AFL-CIO  - COUNCIL 2
County and City Employees
WASHINGTON STATE COUNCIL OF COUNTY AND CITY EMPLOYEES - COUNCIL 2 - AFSCME AFL-CIO
...

ALERT: Senate Republicans Pass Largest Attacks on Plan 2 Pensions Ever (SB 6378)

by Pat Thompson, Council 2 Deputy Director on March 6, 2012

In a surprise attack, Senate Republicans, with the help of three Democrats, took over the floor on Friday night and pulled four bills from committee and passed them with 25-to-24 votes. This was a backroom deal that never saw the light of day.

In a move not seen in decades, the Republican minority moved to the “9th Order of Business” which allowed them to bypass all rules and bring these bills to the floor without committee approval.  SB 6378 would do the following: 

1)   Close Plan 2 and force all new hires into Plan 3

2)   Eliminate all Early Retirement factors for new hires which would raise the current penalties to 8% per year for every year prior to age 65.

3)   Allow the Employer to skip their payments to the Unfunded Actuarial Accrued Liability of Plan 1, a total of $394 million in 2013.

As reported last, the hearing on this bill went well and there appeared to be no interest from the Democrats who control the committee to move the bill forward. Our arguments against it include the following: 

1)   Closing Plan 2 puts Plan 2 members at risk by creating the same underfunding that has plagued Plan 1.

2)   Forcing new hires into Plan 3 put the entire system at risk. The State Investment Board testified that due to the “liquid” nature of Plan 3, less long term, high yield investments are possible which would in turn lower everyone’s rate of return, driving up contribution rates.

Please contact the following Senators and tell them to stop the attack on your pension system – Start with your senator first  

Legislative Hotline – 1-800-562-6000 

Sen. Jim Kastama

jim.kastama@leg.wa.gov

District 25

D

Sen. Rodney Tom

rodney.tom@leg.wa.gov

District 35

D

Sen. Timothy Sheldon

timothy.sheldon@leg.wa.gov

District 48

D

Sen. Michael Baumgartner

michael.baumgartner@leg.wa.gov

District 6

R

Sen. Randi Becker

randi.becker@leg.wa.gov

District 2

R

Sen. Don Benton

don.benton@leg.wa.gov

District 17

R

Sen. Mike Carrell

michael.carrell@leg.wa.gov

District 28

R

Sen. Jerome Delvin

jerome.delvin@leg.wa.gov

District 8

R

Sen. Doug Ericksen

doug.ericksen@leg.wa.gov

District 42

R

Sen. Joe Fain

joe.fain@leg.wa.gov

District 47

R

Sen. Mike Hewitt

mike.hewitt@leg.wa.gov

District 16

R

Sen. Andy Hill

andy.hill@leg.wa.gov

District 45

R

Sen. Janéa Holmquist Newbry

janea.holmquistnewbry@leg.wa.gov

District 13

R

Sen. Jim Honeyford

jim.honeyford@leg.wa.gov

District 15

R

Sen. Curtis King

curtis.king@leg.wa.gov

District 14

R

Sen. Steve Litzow

steve.litzow@leg.wa.gov

District 41

R

Sen. Bob Morton

bob.morton@leg.wa.gov

District 7

R

Sen. Mike Padden

mike.padden@leg.wa.gov

District 4

R

Sen. Linda Evans Parlette

linda.parlette@leg.wa.gov

District 12

R

Sen. Cheryl Pflug

cheryl.pflug@leg.wa.gov

District 5

R

Sen. Pam Roach

pam.roach@leg.wa.gov

District 31

R

Sen. Mark Schoesler

mark.schoesler@leg.wa.gov

District 9

R

Sen. Val Stevens

val.stevens@leg.wa.gov

District 39

R

Sen. Dan Swecker

dan.swecker@leg.wa.gov

District 20

R

Sen. Joseph Zarelli

joseph.zarelli@leg.wa.gov

District 18

R

Other bills passed include the entire budget which slashes millions more from Local Government than the Proposal from Senate and House Democrats. 

Volunteer Threats Still Alive 

Last week also saw a resurgence in the previously dead proposal to deny our ability to bargain over the use of volunteers in our work places. After both House and Senate versions died in committee, a revenue bill (HB 2801) included the same language.  Please call and ask them to strip Section 103 from HB 2801. 

Please contact the following House Members and tell them to “Strike Section 103 of HB 2801”. 

ross.hunter@leg.wa.gov

eileen.cody@leg.wa.gov

timm.ormsby@leg.wa.gov

j.darneille@leg.wa.gov

marylou.dickerson@leg.wa.gov

kevin.parker@leg.wa.gov

bob.hasegawa@leg.wa.gov

kathy.haigh@leg.wa.gov

eric.pettigrew@leg.wa.gov

gary.alexander@leg.wa.gov

larry.haler@leg.wa.gov

charles.ross@leg.wa.gov

barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov

bill.hinkle@leg.wa.gov

joe.schmick@leg.wa.gov

bruce.dammeier@leg.wa.gov

zack.hudgins@leg.wa.gov

larry.seaquist@leg.wa.gov

ed.orcutt@leg.wa.gov

sam.hunt@leg.wa.gov

larry.springer@leg.wa.gov

reuven.carlyle@leg.wa.gov

ruth.kagi@leg.wa.gov

pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov

bruce.chandler@leg.wa.gov

phyllis.kenney@leg.wa.gov

jt.wilcox@leg.wa.gov

 

 

back