County and City Employee
WASHINGTON STATE COUNCIL OF COUNTY AND CITY EMPLOYEES  -  AFSCME AFL-CIO  - COUNCIL 2
County and City Employees
WASHINGTON STATE COUNCIL OF COUNTY AND CITY EMPLOYEES - COUNCIL 2 - AFSCME AFL-CIO
...
Lobby Day 2018

Lobby Day 2018

by Council 2 Deputy Director Pat Thompson on February 23, 2018

Nearly one hundred Council 2 members took their own time to lobby their Legislators on behalf of your Union. Armed with written material, they met with State Senators and Representatives to advocate for local government employees on the following issues:

SB 6079 – Prime Sponsor Senator Kuderer

This bill would prevent the public disclosure of public employees birth dates. Public Employees shouldn’t have to have their personal information handed over to anyone who asked for it. This small measure will help prevent identity theft and protect public employees from people who wish them harm. The bill passed the Senate 25 to 22 with all Democrats voting Yes and all Republicans voting No. The bill is now in the House awaiting action.


SB 6229Prime Sponsor Senator Van De Wege

This bill would allow at least 30 minutes for Unions to present information about the Union to newly hired employees. Given the constant attacks public sector Unions are under, it’s critical that we have an opportunity to explain the importance of membership to employees. Two Republicans joined all 25 Senate Democrats in advancing the bill to the House.
 
*Please contact your Representatives and ask them to support the above bills.
 

HB 1560 – Prime Sponsor Representative Stanford

Currently, new employees who don’t make a decision to join the retirement system within 90 days are automatically put in Plan 3. This is an irrevocable decision.Plan 3 is designed for employees to make specific decisions about their retirement funds and assumes risks that Plan 2 does not. Employees should not be defaulted into a riskier plan without their specific approval. Lastly, this bill will SAVE the state money, $91 million over 25 years.This bill passed to the House with 66 to 29 with 17 Republicans joining all the Democrats in support.
 
*Please contact your Senators and ask them to support the above bill.
 
 
Shelley.Kloba@leg.wa.gov  1 360-786-7900 Jan.Angel@leg.wa.gov  26 360-786-7650
Guy.Palumbo@leg.wa.gov  1 360-786-7600 Michelle.Caldier@leg.wa.gov  26 360-786-7802
Derek.Stanford@leg.wa.gov  1 360-786-7928 Jesse.Young@leg.wa.gov  26 360-786-7964
Andrew.Barkis@leg.wa.gov  2 360-786-7824 Jeannie.Darneille@leg.wa.gov  27 360-786-7652
Randi.Becker@leg.wa.gov  2 360-786-7602 Jake.Fey@leg.wa.gov  27 360-786-7974
JT.Wilcox@leg.wa.gov  2 360-786-7912 Laurie.Jinkins@leg.wa.gov  27 360-786-7930
Andy.Billig@leg.wa.gov  3 360-786-7604 Christine.Kilduff@leg.wa.gov  28 360-786-7958
Timm.Ormsby@leg.wa.gov  3 360-786-7946 Dick.Muri@leg.wa.gov  28 360-786-7890
Marcus.Riccelli@leg.wa.gov  3 360-786-7888 Steve.OBan@leg.wa.gov  28 360-786-7654
Bob.McCaslin@leg.wa.gov  4 360-786-7820 Steve.Conway@leg.wa.gov  29 360-786-7656
Mike.Padden@leg.wa.gov   4 360-786-7606 Steve.Kirby@leg.wa.gov  29 360-786-7996
Matt.Shea@leg.wa.gov  4 360-786-7984 David.Sawyer@leg.wa.gov  29 360-786-7906
Paul.Graves@leg.wa.gov  5 360-786-7876 Mark.Miloscia@leg.wa.gov  30 360-786-7658
Mark.Mullet@leg.wa.gov  5 360-786-7608 Mike.Pellicciotti@leg.wa.gov  30 360-786-7898
Jay.Rodne@leg.wa.gov  5 360-786-7852 Kristine.Reeves@leg.wa.gov  30 360-786-7830
Michael.Baumgartner@leg.wa.gov  6 360-786-7610 phil.fortunato@leg.wa.gov  31 360-786-7660
Jeff.Holy@leg.wa.gov  6 360-786-7962 Morgan.Irwin@leg.wa.gov  31 360-786-7866
Mike.Volz@leg.wa.gov  6 360-786-7922 Drew.Stokesbary@leg.wa.gov  31 360-786-7846
Joel.Kretz@leg.wa.gov  7 360-786-7988 Maralyn.Chase@leg.wa.gov  32 360-786-7662
Jacquelin.Maycumber@leg.wa.gov  7 360-786-7908 Ruth.Kagi@leg.wa.gov  32 360-786-7910
Shelly.Short@leg.wa.gov  7 360-786-7612 Cindy.Ryu@leg.wa.gov  32 360-786-7880
Sharon.Brown@leg.wa.gov  8 360-786-7614 Mia.Gregerson@leg.wa.gov  33 360-786-7868
Larry.Haler@leg.wa.gov  8 360-786-7986 Karen.Keiser@leg.wa.gov  33 360-786-7664
Brad.Klippert@leg.wa.gov  8 360-786-7882 Tina.Orwall@leg.wa.gov  33 360-786-7834
Mary.Dye@leg.wa.gov  9 360-786-7942 Eileen.Cody@leg.wa.gov  34 360-786-7978
Joe.Schmick@leg.wa.gov  9 360-786-7844 Joe.Fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov  34 360-786-7952
Mark.Schoesler@leg.wa.gov  9 360-786-7620 Sharon.Nelson@leg.wa.gov  34 360-786-7667
Barbara.Bailey@leg.wa.gov  10 360-786-7618 Dan.Griffey@leg.wa.gov  35 360-786-7966
Dave.Hayes@leg.wa.gov  10 360-786-7914 Drew.MacEwen@leg.wa.gov  35 360-786-7902
Norma.Smith@leg.wa.gov  10 360-786-7884 Timothy.Sheldon@leg.wa.gov  35 360-786-7668
Steve.Bergquist@leg.wa.gov  11 360-786-7862 Reuven.Carlyle@leg.wa.gov  36 360-786-7670
Bob.Hasegawa@leg.wa.gov  11 360-786-7616 Noel.Frame@leg.wa.gov  36 360-786-7814
Zack.Hudgins@leg.wa.gov  11 360-786-7956 Gael.Tarleton@leg.wa.gov  36 360-786-7860
Cary.Condotta@leg.wa.gov  12 360-786-7954 Eric.Pettigrew@leg.wa.gov  37 360-786-7838
Brad.Hawkins@leg.wa.gov  12 360-786-7622 Rebecca.Saldana@leg.wa.gov  37 360-786-7688
mike.steele@leg.wa.gov  12 360-786-7832 SharonTomiko.Santos@leg.wa.gov  37 360-786-7944
Tom.Dent@leg.wa.gov  13 360-786-7932 John.McCoy@leg.wa.gov  38 360-786-7674
Matt.Manweller@leg.wa.gov  13 360-786-7808 June.Robinson@leg.wa.gov  38 360-786-7864
Judy.Warnick@leg.wa.gov  13 360-786-7624 Mike.Sells@leg.wa.gov  38 360-786-7840
Norm.Johnson@leg.wa.gov  14 360-786-7810 Carolyn.Eslick@leg.wa.gov  39 360-786-7816
Curtis.King@leg.wa.gov  14 360-786-7626 Dan.Kristiansen@leg.wa.gov  39 360-786-7967
Gina.McCabe@leg.wa.gov  14 360-786-7856 Keith.Wagoner@leg.wa.gov  39 360-786-7676
Bruce.Chandler@leg.wa.gov  15 360-786-7960 Kristine.Lytton@leg.wa.gov  40 360-786-7800
Jim.Honeyford@leg.wa.gov  15 360-786-7684 Jeff.Morris@leg.wa.gov  40 360-786-7970
David.Taylor@leg.wa.gov  15 360-786-7874 Kevin.Ranker@leg.wa.gov  40 360-786-7678
Bill.Jenkin@leg.wa.gov  16 360-786-7836 Judy.Clibborn@leg.wa.gov  41 360-786-7926
Terry.Nealey@leg.wa.gov  16 360-786-7828 Tana.Senn@leg.wa.gov  41 360-786-7894
Maureen.Walsh@leg.wa.gov  16 360-786-7630 Lisa.Wellman@leg.wa.gov  41 360-786-7641
Paul.Harris@leg.wa.gov  17 360-786-7976 Vincent.Buys@leg.wa.gov  42 360-786-7854
Vicki.Kraft@leg.wa.gov  17 360-786-7994 Doug.Ericksen@leg.wa.gov  42 360-786-7682
Lynda.Wilson@leg.wa.gov  17 360-786-7632 Luanne.VanWerven@leg.wa.gov  42 360-786-7980
Liz.Pike@leg.wa.gov  18 360-786-7812 Frank.Chopp@leg.wa.gov  43 360-786-7920
Ann.Rivers@leg.wa.gov  18 360-786-7634 Nicole.Macri@leg.wa.gov  43 360-786-7826
Brandon.Vick@leg.wa.gov  18 360-786-7850 Jamie.Pedersen@leg.wa.gov  43 360-786-7628
Brian.Blake@leg.wa.gov  19 360-786-7870 Mark.Harmsworth@leg.wa.gov  44 360-786-7892
Dean.Takko@leg.wa.gov  19 360-786-7636 Steve.Hobbs@leg.wa.gov  44 360-786-7686
Jim.Walsh@leg.wa.gov  19 360-786-7806 John.Lovick@leg.wa.gov  44 360-786-7804
John.Braun@leg.wa.gov  20 360-786-7638 Manka.Dhingra@leg.wa.gov  45 360-786-7672
Richard.DeBolt@leg.wa.gov  20 360-786-7896 Roger.Goodman@leg.wa.gov  45 360-786-7878
Ed.Orcutt@leg.wa.gov  20 360-786-7990 Larry.Springer@leg.wa.gov  45 360-786-7822
Marko.Liias@leg.wa.gov  21 360-786-7640 David.Frockt@leg.wa.gov  46 360-786-7690
Lillian.Ortiz-Self@leg.wa.gov  21 360-786-7972 Gerry.Pollet@leg.wa.gov  46 360-786-7886
Strom.Peterson@leg.wa.gov  21 360-786-7950 Javier.Valdez@leg.wa.gov  46 360-786-7818
Beth.Doglio@leg.wa.gov  22 360-786-7992 Joe.Fain@leg.wa.gov  47 360-786-7692
Laurie.Dolan@leg.wa.gov  22 360-786-7940 Mark.Hargrove@leg.wa.gov  47 360-786-7918
Sam.Hunt@leg.wa.gov  22 360-786-7642 Pat.Sullivan@leg.wa.gov  47 360-786-7858
Sherry.Appleton@leg.wa.gov  23 360-786-7934 Kuderer.Patty@leg.wa.gov  48 360-786-7694
Drew.Hansen@leg.wa.gov  23 360-786-7842 Joan.McBride@leg.wa.gov  48 360-786-7848
Christine.Rolfes@leg.wa.gov  23 360-786-7644 Vandana.Slatter@leg.wa.gov  48 360-786-7936
Mike.Chapman@leg.wa.gov  24 360-786-7916 Annette.Cleveland@leg.wa.gov  49 360-786-7696
Steve.Tharinger@leg.wa.gov  24 360-786-7904 Monica.Stonier@leg.wa.gov  49 360-786-7872
Kevin.VanDeWege@leg.wa.gov  24 360-786-7646 Sharon.Wylie@leg.wa.gov  49 360-786-7924
back